1. Inter-Disciplinary: Choreography/Multi-media
and Chamber Music

* THOUSAND GATES  (2010/2011) 
Korean  and Western Choreography, Korean Ensemble (Percussion, Haegeum), Western Ensemble (violin, cello, clarinet/bass clarinet, percussion) and Multi-media.
Tandy Beal Dance Company, Eun-Ha Park/ William Winant, Ensemble Parallèle (Nicole Paiement, conductor), Bohnchang Koo, Visual artist

Being written in memory of Andrew Imbrie

* Rituel III (2004/5)  Ca. 40’
Korean Choreography/percussion, Korean Ensemble (Janggo, Daegeum) and Western Ensemble (violin, cello, clarinet/bass clarinet, percussion), Multi-media. 
Preview: Symposium for the International Musicological Society, Melbourne, Australia, 2004
Premiere: Walt Disney Hall, Los Angeles, 2005

* Rituel II (2002) Ca. 45’
Korean Choreography/Korean Percussion, Korean Ensemble (Chanting, Piri /bamboo  oboe, Saengwhang/mouth organ, Hun/clay flute, Yangkeum/dulcimer); Western Ensemble (violin, cello, clarinet/bass clarinet, percussion)
Premiere: “Korean Musical Ceremony”, UCSC Arts & Lectures Presents at Herbst Theatre, San Francisco, April, 2002
Premiere (Revised version): National Center for Korean Traditional Performing Arts, October, 2002.

* Rituel (2001) Ca. 30’
Korean Dance/Percussion and Violin, Cello, Clarinet,  Percussion,  
Commissioned by  the Other Minds Festival
Premiered by Korean dancer/percussionist, Park, Eun-Ha (National Center for Korean Traditional Performing Arts, Seoul, Korea)  and Other Minds Ensemble, at the Other Minds Festival, 2001

2. Chamber Ensemble

*When He was Six Hundred Years Old (2010)
Haegeum (Korean fiddle), Clarinet, Cello
Written for Soo-Neon Chung, John Sackett, Jean-Michel Fonteneau
Premiere at NONG Music Festival 2010

* Isle of Eeo (2010)
Violin (2), Viola, Cello, Percussion
Co-Commissioned by Koussevitzky Foundation and the Chamber Music Society of Minnesota
Text by Korean Poet, KO Un
Premiere by the Chamber Music Society of Minnesota

* Clarinet Quintet (2009), editing
Clarinet, String Quartet
Editing of unfinished work of Andrew Imbrie
(Commissioned by Harvard Musical Association)
Premiere by Richard Stolzman and Borromeo String Quartet at Harvard Musical Association, 2009

* At the Edge of the Ocean (2001/2003), 21’
Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Viola, Cello, Percussion (2),  
Commissioned by Meet the Composer/Commissioning USA Grant and the Chamber Music Society of  Minnesota.  Special project, “Hun Qiao” (Bridge of Souls)
Premiere by Yo-Yo Ma and the Chamber Music Society of Minnesota (Ordway Arts Center, St. Paul, Minnesota), 2001

* Trio  “Sori” (2002), 12’
Korean Daegeum (bamboo flute), clarinet and cello Commissioned by Sound Clock Contemporary Ensemble, New York, Premiere in October, 2002 at the PAN International Music Festival  in Seoul, Korea.

* Primitive Dance  (1990/1999) 14’
Written for Alexander String Quartet ; Dedicated to Sung-Jae Lee
Premiered by Alexander String Quartet, Arts & Lectures at U.C. Santa Cruz, 2002

* Breaking the Silence (1996) 12’
Violin, Cello, Piano
Commissioned by Earplay
Premiered by Earplay, Pacific Rim Music Festival, University of California, Santa Cruz, 1996   

* Unknown Lives  (1995) 15’
 Flute, Clarinet, Violin, Viola, Cello, Percussion, Piano
 Commissioned by  San Francisco Contemporary Music Players
Premiered by San Francisco Contemporary Music Players, Yerba Buena Center for the Arts, 1996

*When You Rush (1991), 5’
Flute, Clarinet, Bassoon, Trombone, Violin, Cello,  Harp
Written for Tanglewood Ensemble
Premiered by Tanglewood Ensemble at Tanglewood Music Center, 1991

* What are Years? (1988/ 1991 revised) 2 movements,  13’
Soprano, Flute, Clarinet, Guitar, Violin, Double Bass
Commissioned by  ISKRA Contemporary Chamber Ensemble , San Francisco
Premiered by ISKRA at the Berkeley Trinity Church, 1988
Tanglewood Ensemble at  Tanglewood Music Center (revised version), 1991

* Short Dance (1987) 4’
String quartet

*Encounter   (1986) 10’
Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Bassoon, Cello and five Percussion Players
Premiered by UC Berkeley Contemporary Ensemble, Hertz Hall, Berkeley 1986

* Ari  for Soprano & String quartet (1983) 12’
Premiered at U.C. Berkeley Noon Concert, 1983

*Satisfaction  (1977)  7’
Chamber Ensemble
Premiere:  Seoul National University Music Hall, 1977

*Musical Gathering (1976) 8’
Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Bassoon, Horn
Premiere: Seoul National University Music Hall, 1977

* Crash (1975)  8’
String Quartet
Premiered at Seoul National University, 1976

* Resistance  (1975) 6’
Soprano, Piano
Premiere: Seoul National University Music Hall, 1975


3. Solo and Duo

* FOR RAE“I am too excited to tell you”
Piano solo (in progress)

Written for Aki Takahashi and written in memory of Rae Imamura

* The Poet KIM SAT GAT:  daegeum solo (bamboo flute)  (2007/2010), 12’
Commissioned by Contemporary Music Ensemble Korea
Written for Jeong-Seung Kim in collaboration with Bohnchang Koo, visual images

Premiere at the National Center for Korean Traditional Performing Arts, December 2007
Premiere/revised version with visual images at the Pacific Rim Music Festival, April 2010

*Secret Wine: percussion solo (2008) 8’
Written for Ward Spangler
Dedicated to Olly Wilson on the occasion of his 70th Birthday
Premiere at the April in Santa Cruz New Music Festival, 2008

* Two Years with the Seine (2007) 4 movements, 16’
Clarinet and Cello, written for Jean-Michel Fonteneau and John Sackett Duo
Commissioned by the Arts Council Korea
Premiere at the Festival for Korean Gayageum and Western Instruments, 2007

* A Story: gayageum solo (2006) 3 movements, 12’
Commissioned by Aeri Ji
Premiere at the National Center for Korean Traditional Performing Arts, 2005

* Orange Pastel  (2001/2009), 6’
Two Percussionists
 Premiered by New Music Ensemble at the San Francisco Conservatory of Music in April 2001.

* Crystal Drops (2000/2003) 2 movements, 13’

  1. Two pianos, commissioned by and written for Aki Takahashi and Rae Imamura
  2. Premiere at the Asian Music Festival, Jerusalem, Israel, 2004

* After the Fall  (1998) 9’30”
Clarinet and Bass Clarinet,
Written for John Sackett &  Peter Josheff 
Premiere: April in Santa Cruz New Music Festival, University of California, Santa Cruz, 1998

* Instant Breath: flute solo (1999) 8’
Written for Leta Miller
Premiered by Leta Miller at the April in Santa Cruz New Music Festival, UC Santa Cruz, 1999

* Reflection:  clarinet solo (1985) 4’

*Intrigues  (1985) 3 movements 12’
Prepared Piano and Clarinet
Premiered by John Sackett and Michael Seth Orland, Hertz Hall, Berkeley, 1985 (2 movements)
Premiered by Evan Ziporyn and Michael Seth Orland, at San Francisco Symphony New and Unusual Music Concert, 1988  (3 movements)

*Dialogue (1974) 8’
Violin, Piano
Premiere: Seoul National University Music Hall, 1974

*Path way:  piano solo (1974) 6’
Premiere: Seoul National University, 1974

4. Orchestra and Choral Works

* Requiem (in progress) 
Chamber Orchestra & Chamber Choir,
Commissioned by Fromm Foundation and written for the Ensemble Parallèle and the University
Chamber Choir at U.C. Santa Cruz, conductor Nicole Paiement
Premiere:  BluePrint New Music Festival at San Francisco Conservatory

* Islands in the Bay,  Percussion Concerto (1993),
3 movements, 15’  4 (per.).  pn. hrp. strings
Premiere by Rohnert Park Symphony, conducted by Karla Lemon (3 movements)
University Symphony at University of California, Berkeley, conducted by Michael Senturia (1 movement)

*Conversation for Orchestra (1976) 6’

*Looking at the New Heaven and Earth (1976)  7’
mixed voice (s.a.t.b.) and piano
Premiere: Seoul National University, 1976

5. Computer/tape piece

* Step (1988) 4’30”
  Completed at CCRMA at Stanford University