Irwin Scholars 2002
MAY 22 -– JUNE 8

Public Reception: Wednesday, May 22, 5–7 p.m.
Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery
Porter College, UCSC
The events are free and open to the public.

The Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery is preparing for the upcoming Irwin Scholars art exhibition opening on Wednesday, May 22. The William Hyde and Susan Benteen Irwin Scholarships have been awarded to sixteen students this year. The Irwin Scholarship Fund was established in 1986 with a $10,000 personal check, allowing four students to receive awards that first year. Since then, the endowment has grown to over $700,000 and generates annual merit scholarships furthering the art education of select UC Santa Cruz art students. "These scholarships are considered as recognition given by the faculty to the top 5% of the program," comments Norman Locks, Chair of the Art Department. "They are an acknowledgement of successful resolutions evident in their work and personal effort." This year’s scholars reflect a variety of art-making approaches, philosophies, and work in different mediums. The scholars’ combined work includes painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture, installation, intermedia, and performance.

Recipients: Meghan Bahn, Brandon Bird, Peter Chester, Lea Anna Drown, Rebecca Frediani, April Frykenberg, Gabriel Gilder, Evan Holm, Katrina Knutzen, Janina Larenas, Emily Lessard, Josh Luke, Courtney Nimura, Kaytea Petro, Maria Pugnetti, and Tom Robinson.

Gallery hours are Tuesday – Saturday, noon to 5 p.m. The gallery is wheelchair accessible and admission is free. Parking is free on weekends. Group tours are available by appointment at (831)459-3606. Please visit our website at: